Tags

, , , , ,

Guys I just wanted to relate a personal situation I witnessed while working at Airbus. So as most of you know, I have been interning in Hamburg, Germany for Boeing’s archnemesis. While working here I have made tons of great friends from all over Europe and experienced so many different cultures and traditions.

One thing that reins pretty much supreme, regardless of which European country my co-workers and fellow interns come from is a love or appreciation for football(soccer).

Soccer is the sport of the world, and for good reason. All you need is a ball and some people and you can have a game. Living in the heart of soccer afficiandos, you would think it would be easy to find people to play with…IT IS NOT. So know to the situation I witnessed which I will use to highlight the flaws in current systems to organize sports.

So twice now at work, email chains have gone out to various groups of people and I have been invited to play soccer after work. These emails were sent to over 50 people each time, mainly young interns like myself and yet both failed miserably. Each time less than four people showed interest. Even though your demographic is mainly males aged 19-25(engineering guys) in a region where soccer is revered, less than 8% chose to join. This suggests that for a minimum game of 5 on 5, you should invite at least 125 individuals. Here is where 8Blocks comes in. Our sports app allows users to invite any interested users within a certain radius, increasing the exposure and chances of success. We may not be changing the world, but we sure as hell hope to change yours just a tiny bit. Let’s Play Ball.

